My Florida Holiday Round-up – Day 3

11 Jun

Day 3 – Tuesday 10th May

We were up early and off to one our favourite parks, Animal Kingdom. We arrived at the park at around 9:30am and headed straight over to watch the Lion King Show. I tried to avoid eye contact with one of the actors, but it didn’t work and he picked me out of the audience! I had to make the noise of an elephant, and of course, I was hopeless!! The whole room laughed at me – embarrassing! The show itself was brilliant, the actors, singers and dancers are all extremely talented and I enjoyed every second of it.

After the show, some of the Disney characters were outside, so we had our photo taken with Minnie and Goofy – I just couldn’t resist! Then we headed over to Kilimanjaro Safaris. The queue was already 45 minutes long for this and rather than wait around in the heat, we decided to get a fast pass and go back later. Instead we headed over to the Kali River Rapids. Unfortunately, I was sat in the seat that just happened to go backwards down the drop, and got soaked! It certainly cooled me down!

Then we headed back over to Kilimanjaro Safaris as our fast pass was now valid. The safari, as always, was brilliant fun and we got to see quite a few animals along the way, including elephants, rhino, giraffes, alligators & hippos. The lions and the cheetahs were getting some shade so unfortunately we didn’t get to see them. We were starting to get hungry, so we headed off to find some lunch. As we were passing the Tree of Life we decided to go and watch It’s a Bugs Life before getting some food. The 3D show was brilliant, although a little scary for some of the little ones watching!

We had some lunch at Flame Tree BBQ – I had a club sandwich (which was HUGE) and Paul had half a BBQ chicken and chips. The food was YUMMY! After lunch we headed over to Dinoland and we went on Dinosaur which we both really enjoyed. I was itching to get over to Expedition Everest so off we went. The single rider queue was open so I had to queue – but it was only 15 mins. I love this ride, it is so much fun and thrilling at the same time, definitely one of my favourites.

By this time the park was HOT HOT HOT! We decided to find some shade and sit and have a drink while we were waiting for the parade to begin. The parade was, as always, superb. No one does parades like Disney! It really captures the magic of Disney whilst carrying the animal theme through brilliantly.

In the evening we were meeting our friends Lee and Ferg for dinner. For the first time ever, I drove to the restaurant. I was quite scared as it was the first time I had driven an automatic and on the wrong side of the road! However, it was easy peasy and I quite enjoyed it. We met them at Santa Fe Cattle Co for beers and burgers (of course I stuck to diet coke)! They had already been there for nearly 3 weeks so although they were excited to see us, they were also sad that it meant they would be going home. They introduced us to some of their American friends and we had a lovely evening together.

x E x

Leave a Reply

